Skip to content

The Slow Family Project

One family's journey to slow down.

So I’m not totally sure I know exactly how I am going to structure this post today. But I do want to say upfront, that I am writing emotionally tonight. My daughter just asked me “Do you have an owie” after seeing my blood-shot, cried out eyes watch her playing in the tub tonight.

I guess I’ve just had it with people’s opinions about my life. What I’m doing. How I’m going to do it. Where I’m going to live. What am I going to do. Yes, me and my family are making changes. So?

Can’t we all just be happy for one another and get out of our ego stricken states of mind? And another thing that’s bothering me lately is this. The way we Judge one another. And especially how we Mother.

I really didn’t want this to be a negative post. But I think some people just might relate, so I will just let loose.

Becoming a Mom, being a Mom. And I’m sure, becoming a Father and being a Father too…comes along with it a force for you to come to terms with your values, the cycles you’ve grown with and would like to change and what you really, really want out of life. At least for us, it has done this for us. Looking back to the day we brought our daughter home to today, we have done a complete transformation and the effects of this are only coming to life.

But why do you have to rain on my parade?

It has been an interesting couple of weeks. I gave notice at my “job”. The next thing people ask “What are you going to do now? Do you have a job in the new city?” A few people can relate. And that has been surprising. That people do “get” the concept of living slowly and more frugally.

I do feel the emotions that result from Judgement. Why do I feel this? Is this me? Where does this come from? Why can’t people  just be happy and supportive. Understanding. Compassionate. Not jealous. Why do we spend time judging one another? I guess it feeds the Ego. I guess this is just the way it is.

I just want to be a Mother. And so I am able to do this. So what? Why do you lament?

We live in a community. Let’s support one another in all our decisions.

This crazy world could end tomorrow. Life is here for all of us to live, the way we dream it. It’s my hope that somehow, we can overcome whatever it is that is holding us back from living authentically, which means supporting each other  in whatever it is that you want to do with your life. (well may be not people over at BP, but you catch my drift).

Don’t Judge.

